taking our culture forward

Manannan's Choice of the Year - nominations sought for cultural award

Fri, 30 Oct 2020

Last year, folklorist, collector and author, Stephen Miller received the Isle of Man’s highest award for contributions to Manx culture. Now is the time to start thinking about who you would like to nominate for this year’s ‘Reih Bleeaney Vanannan’ award, to recognise them as ‘Manannan’s Choice of the Year.’

The award recognises Manannan as patron of Manx culture, and comprises a trophy designed by Eric Austwick, a medal designed by Jenny Kissack, together with donations to the recipient and to a Manx cultural cause of their choosing.

Nominations are open throughout November. You should think about someone or a group that has made the greatest contribution to the Island’s culture. A small group of judges from various Manx cultural organisations gather together in December to make the decision, with the winner usually announced in January.

Previous winners include John Kaneen (music, collecting, and broadcasting), Phil Kelly (Manx language), the Michael Players (dialect theatre), William Cain (wildlife and environment), Clare Kilgallon (music, song and dance), the Bunscoill Ghaelgagh (language and culture), Allan Skillan (field-walking and prehistory), and Maureen Costain Richards (Manx artistic heritage, particularly Manx crosses); the award embraces diverse aspects of Manx culture.

Nomination forms and rules are available here or by emailing us – your nomination should assume that the reader knows nothing about the individual or group and should show how they have made an impact on the Island’s culture. If they have been active in one or more areas, or have achieved something remarkable in the past year or over their lifetime, make sure you detail this – all aspects are considered by the judges.

Like the good legendary first ruler of the Isle of Man that he is, Manannan takes care to listen to the people, so it’s up to you and you alone to propose Manannan’s Choice of the Year by the closing date and time of 12 noon on Monday 30 November 2020.